Diet Dodgyness

Somehow it has been almost three weeks since I last blogged.  My absence has been a mixture of too much going on and somehow not feeling ‘it’, whatever ‘it’ is…..

A few months ago, in a bid to shift a few extra pounds I turned to the new diet sensation everyone seems to be dabbling in, the 5:2 diet.  At first things went well, in only a couple of weeks I’d lost 7lbs.  The fast days weren’t actually that bad, I planned it out really well and got as many nutrients as possible from the 500 calories available.   The problem started a few weeks in, the day after a fast day I just couldn’t stop eating, and because it wasn’t a fast day and I could just eat as I wanted, I just kept on eating.  After a while I noticed that the non-fast days were really bad for me.

So a couple of months on, the 7lb is back on plus another 2 and I’m feeling pretty crappy.  I’m now finding it really hard to get into a healthy eating zone and barely staying the right side of not treating myself like a human dustbin!

Our holiday is in 4 months, so I really need to knuckle down and get back into a healthy eating zone and start looking after myself a bit better.

Since the wedding, whenever I need a cheer-up, I take a look at our wedding photo’s, so here’s a few of my favourites – excuse the dodgy cropping, I didn’t want to add anyone to this post who might not want to be added!

Me - getting ready

My make-up artist let me down two days before the wedding, so I ended up doing it myself!

My bouquet

It took me months to decide on which sort of flowers I wanted for my bouquet, and then one day I saw the picture below and I knew that was exactly what I wanted.  However, due to the time of year when we got married I couldn’t have the  white peony’s as they were our to season, but it still looked gorgeous and I was thrilled with it.

Bouquet - mag picture

Me - In church

I loved my dress so much – in fact, I still have it hanging on the back of the wardrobe door because I just can’t decide whether to pack it away into a box or chop it up and display the bodice bit in a picture frame (my bridesmaid made us a boxed picture frame containing a copy of our invite and a few dried flowers from the bouquet, so I would do it to match that style).  I got it from Monsoon and I just knew when I put it on that it was the one for me.  I really didn’t want to be all trussed up and struggling to breathe and I also wanted to be able to go the the ladies on my own without a friend having to help me hold up the dress!!

 

Me - signing the register

I love this photo – it just shows in my face how happy I was (and still am – dodgy diets aside!!)

Wedding - Me in the car

Wedding cake

We pulled our wedding together on a really tight budget and to save on costs I made the wedding cake myself – and it turned out alright, even if I do say so myself…

I feel much cheerier after having a little look back through those amazing memories :o) 

One thought on “Diet Dodgyness

  1. You look gorgeous. And such pretty make-up, hair, beautiful dress… what memories to have 🙂 And omg, that cake -oh to have an ounce of your talent!- I usually end up making mine “rough sea” cakes and plonking a paper sailboat on the top because the icing is so bad, lol. Diet stinks here too, haven’t put an outfit up in ages because they’re all rank. And just to really cheer me up, the in-laws arrive today, ugh! They’d better at least bring me chocolate, or I will turn them right around 😉

Leave a Reply

